Going Forward in Law

Hiya Law,

I’d planned to wait until after tomorrow’s test to outline the rest of the semester, but I know some of you have questions, so I’m sending this email now. And it’s not even 1 p.m. on a T/Th!

Look at your syllabus/readings on the WordPress page: https://journalismandlaw.wordpress.com

You’ll see we have four weeks of material left to cover:

Week 10 (March 31):  Privacy

Week 11 (April 7):  Privacy II

Week 12 (April 14): Courts/Protection of Sources

Week 13 (April 21): Courts/Free Press-Fair Trial and Gag Orders

Week 14 (April 29): Test #3

Each T/Th at 1 p.m., I’ll send you an outline of the day’s material, just as I’ve done when we meet in class. You should plan to have done the related reading linked on the WordPress page by the first of each week.  Some days, I’ll include a video to watch. Some days, we’ll have “in-class” assignments to work on, which will be due by 10 p.m. the same day. For these, I encourage you to work with the same teams you’ve been working with in class. You can talk together, then email the assignment to me, copying everyone’s email so I can return feedback. Or you can do them on your own.

In other words, class will continue exactly as it has so far, except we won’t be in the same room.  This material on Privacy and the Courts is so rich and engaging that I think you’ll enjoy reading and thinking critically about it.

I’ll email you the test at 1 Thursday. It looks exactly like Test #1 except it covers Libel, Access and Copyright, and your numbered responses are due at 1 Friday.

Hang in! Stay well! Let me know if you have questions!

All best,

k

Leave a comment